Humble Beginnings

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Every great career starts somewhere.  Today, my career as a library professional began in my new part-time job at South Huntington Public Library.  I’m an adult page in the Children’s Department, a position that consists of organizing and shelving books in every section and helping out in programs and other tasks as needed.  I’m so excited to have the chance to get my foot in the door and start getting some honest-to-goodness library experience.

You know when you start working on a jigsaw puzzle of a beautiful mountain scene, and at least half of the 500 pieces are sky blue?  Imagine, after getting the border pieces squared away, you test some pieces of sky, and they fit in with the edges!  Gratified much?!

Now, I’m finding the right pieces and they’re actually fitting together, bit-by-bit.  I only have to get a few more pieces into piece, and the puzzle will make more and more sense.  Next pieces: get accepted to QC and sign up for summer classes.  Hopefully they’ll have more clues than the blue sky pieces do.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 responses to “Humble Beginnings

  1. loving your puzzle analogy 😀 how is it so far? wait… I just looked to the right and saw your most recent twitter update/post/status thing (tweet?) which answered my question 😀 so glad to hear that you had an awesome first day!

  2. Christine Pennacchio

    Thanks, Esther! My first two days were very nice indeed! And last night, I voted for my library budget (b/c I live in the same district).

Leave a Reply

