Between Jobs

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

For the first time, I think, I can accurately say that I’m “between jobs.” Since I’ve graduated from college, I’ve used this handy phrase to euphemize periods of unemployment to my family and acquaintances.

“But what’s different this time?” you might ask. Well, today I completed my last day of work as a Page in the Children’s department at my local library, and Tuesday, I’ll begin work as a Librarian Trainee in the same department. After going through the ups and downs of uncertainty about the likelihood of my promotion, I now know that the job’s mine. (Actually, one of the jobs – mine is one of three maternity leave positions).

Starting Tuesday, I’ll be working at “the big desk” in the children’s department, answering children’s and parents’ questions, registering patrons for programs, weeding out old books, working on readers’ advisory book lists, and perhaps even running some story time programs. Although this job will only last until Christmastime, it works out ideally for me, because it will give me the experience I need and crave, while only requiring six months’ worth of commitment. Not only that, but I’ll only be working around 11 hours a week, with a pay increase that will keep my paychecks about the same as they are now (score!). I’m not trying to brag, but I’m just so happy about this opportunity, one that I wouldn’t have imagined possible for another year or more.  Usually, these positions go to MLS students nearly done with their degree.  Viva la foot-in-the-door!

I’m excited and nervous, and I find comfort knowing that my coworkers have (and I hope, will continue to be) very supportive of this transition. Wish me good luck!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

z

3 responses to “Between Jobs

  1. Congratulations, dear!!!
    Best wishes to you as you begin your new position!
    They are so lucky to have you 😀

  2. Hi, Christine–found your blog via your other blog (via your comment at Seraphic’s). From someone just on the other side of library school, congrats on the promotion! I’m just starting a new job myself. 🙂

  3. Congratulations and best of luck in your new position! Enjoy the journey!

Leave a Reply

