Teens’ Top Ten 2010

The list of top ten teen fiction books was announced this month.  Here’s the link to promotional video material featuring WWE Diva Eve Torres.

Here’s the list:

  1. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  2. City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
  3. Heist Society by Ally Carter
  4. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
  5. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
  6. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
  7. Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen
  8. If I Stay by Gayle Forman
  9. Fire by Kristin Cashore
  10. Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

Can anyone make a personal recommendation of any of these from the list? I haven’t read any of these yet, and I’d like something to read after I finish Sharp North.

2 responses to “Teens’ Top Ten 2010

  1. I liked “Along for the Ride”–I didn’t think it was Dessen’s best work ever, and it was a little too closely influenced by her being a new mom, but it wasn’t bad.

    “Catching Fire” would need to be read after “The Hunger Games.” I have it on hold (on audio) at the library. HG was a hard read/listen. Heck, most of the ones on here are, I think. Lots of “downers,” but that’s what YAs are reading.

  2. Thanks, Kate! I haven’t read any Sarah Dessen yet, but maybe I’ll seek out “Along for the Ride.” I need to catch up on all books from the “Hunger Games” series, too!

    Sadly, I didn’t know that YA lit existed when I was a teen. I think I went straight from Roald Dahl to William Golding and George Orwell (I loved the classics as a tween). YA lit is a whole new world for me.

    Thanks for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

