Ferdinand the Bull (Recommendation from “The Blind Side”)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

The Story of Ferdinand

Written by Munro Leaf

Illustrated by Robert Lawson

I first became familiar with “Ferdinand” when I saw the movie “The Blind Side.”  My admiration for the main character of the film, named Michael, was strong enough to make me eager to read this classic.  Although my mother read a ton of books to me as a child, I guess we missed this one.  It’s the sweet story of a bull named Ferdinand who doesn’t fit the typical mold of other young male bulls: he doesn’t like to fight or butt heads.  All he wants to do is enjoy the meadow and smell the flowers.  It shows children that even the strongest of creatures can be different; being yourself is ok.  The minds behind “The Blind Side” chose a great picture book to reference; Michael, like Ferdinand, doesn’t want to become violent like the other children in his neighborhood.  Instead, he wants to love, protect, and enjoy the simple pleasures of family life.

As the author and illustrator write on the book flap: ” ‘Ferdinand’ is a perfectly absurd story which will make everybody laugh and chuckle.”  I agree and recommend it heartily.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 responses to “Ferdinand the Bull (Recommendation from “The Blind Side”)

  1. Ferninard the Bull sounds like my kind of guy! I can’t wait to get my hands on his story!

  2. I totally missed out on this book during my childhood, too! I’m going to check it out 🙂 I actually saw it at Barnes and Noble a few days ago and I was trying to remember where I had seen/heard about it before` After reading your post, I realized that I saw it in The Blind Side, too 😀

  3. Absurd, perhaps, and sublime to boot! My favorite book as a boy; and today, my favorite boy as a book. Still inside, still beside my bedside, still my favorite gift for chilluns and olduns alike. The story, the pictures, the corks in the trees, the flowers in the ladies’ hair, the dazed look of confusion/euphoria on Ferdinand’s handsome mug, his mother’s look of concern, the bee-stings-bull’s-@$$ action sequence, the long ride home. The Story of Ferdinand is a must for the child in all of us. And the adult in every child. Wonderful blog post! Thank you.

  4. Pingback: Ferdinand the Bull « virtualDavis

Leave a comment